Special Memories

It is funny when you take a moment to reflect on your life that you realise that it those moments that you thought were insignificant that have made you who you are. I came across a poem called Sonnet 43 by Elizabeth Barret Browning, and it immediately think about my high school teacher  Mr Fiagbor. The one teacher who made learning about metaphors, similes and personification fun. The man who made me appreciate a beautifully written poem. I was one of the students who didn’t mind writing a four page essay based on the feelings that were evoked in me by the poet’s use of figures of speech. I never admitted that to my classmates but I know I wasn’t the only one who felt that way. I remember how we all use to complain when Mr Fiagbor started picking people to read the poems that we were going to be studying in class, but I thank God for those moments that taught me how to be brave and just speak. Those memories that were made in my English Literature class will never be forgotten. They have definitely had a big impact on making me who I am today. Even though you are gone too soon. You are still remembered and appreciated to this day.

Sonnet 43 by Elizabeth Barret Browning

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height

My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight

For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.

I love thee to the level of everyday’s

Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.

I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;

I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.

I love thee with the passion put to use

In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith ,

I love thee with a love I seemed to lose

With my lost saints!- I love thee with the breath

Smiles, tears , of all my life- and, if God choose,

I shall but love thee better after death

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset
One of my spots that I go to just to reflect on life…
Leave a Reply

