Embracing change…

Change is never easy. Embracing change is one of the hardest things that a person ever has to do. It is looking into the unknown and being willing to take a leap of faith. Change is something that I have had to deal with recently. I had to adjust to being on my own without my mum and dad. Being by myself has taught me a lot of things. Some of those lessons have been hard but at the end of it all they have made me a better  person.” Progress is impossible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything.”- George Bernard Shaw. Becoming a better person requires me progressing, and growing which is impossible without change. Change forces you to deal with stuff that you may not have thought were a problem. It has forced me to deal with certain stuff within myself that may not have been a problem before.

For instance my friends and I recently went out for dinner. While we were making our way to the restaurant some guy decided to grab my hand. I am a person who always laughs when they are shocked, but I have now had to learn to have more of a serious face when faced with certain situations. Why people find the need to grab people’s hands in the middle of the night I will never know…

The funny thing about change is that not only do you have to embrace change but so do the people around you. I have enjoyed being able to watch my friends become ladies. It is the most beautiful thing ever being able to watch someone blossom and become the person that you always knew they were meant to be. I have known some of my friends since preschool. One of the things we love doing is looking at pictures of us over the years, and seeing how we have changed over the years.

So embrace change. It may be scary at times but the outcome is worth it in the end. Even if the outcome isn’t what you want or expect there is always a lesson to be learnt.  Here are some of my changes through the years:

Residence Formal -Blonde hair. Don't care. #EmbraceChange
Residence Formal
-Blonde hair. Don’t care.
#EmbraceChange
Valentine's Social. -Before I decided to go blonde. #UniversityLife
Valentine’s Social.
-Before I decided to go blonde.
#UniversityLife
11910512_1500674240231676_1965384008_n
Me on my 20th Birthday! #Embracing change
My high school days
My high school days
My high school prom
My high school prom
10367788_929299823781349_809031734872813267_n
Me as baby back in the day.
Leave a Reply

